Current Academic Year, 2019-20

Autumn 2019

Tuesday, Oct. 22, 6 p.m.

  • Darrin McMahon (History)
  • "Happiness Through History"
  • Carson L01

Monday, Oct. 28, 6 p.m.

  • Lynn Patyk (Russian Studies)
  • "Provocation as a Form of Information Warfare"
  • Rocky 1

Monday, Nov. 4, 6 p.m.

  • Paul Christesen (Classical Studies)
  • "Leisure as a Luxury Good in Ancient Sparta"
  • Rocky 1

Monday, Nov. 11, 6 p.m.

  • Meir Kohn (Economics)
  • "How I Became a Libertarian"
  • Rocky 2

    Winter 2020

    Monday, Jan. 13

    • Daniel Steinmetz-Jenkins (Postdoctoral Fellow) 
    • Religious Freedom in a Populist Age
    • 6 pm, room TBD

    Tuesday, Jan. 21

    • Immersion Trip to Chile and Argentina
    • Student Reports from Econ 70 with Profs. Rose and Irwin
    • 6 pm, room TBD

    Monday, Jan. 27

    • Stuart Finkel (Russian Studies)
    • "Political 'Philanthropy' Under Lenin and Stalin"
    • 6 pm, room TBD

    Monday, Feb. 10

    • Peter DeShazo (LALACS)
    • "Trading Places: How Chile Passed Argentina on the Road to Development"
    • 6 pm Room TBD

    Spring 2019

    This past year's student dinners covered a range of topics, including Venezuela, immigration, and organized crime.

    Monday, April 8, 6 p.m.

    • Sunmin Kim (Sociology)
    • "Blinded by the Facts: Race, Immigration, and National Identity in the Early 20th Century United States"
    • Kemeny 006

    Monday, April 29, 6 p.m.

    • Meir Kohn (Economics)
    • "Why There is No Such Thing as Capitalism (or Communism)"
    • Silsby 028

    Monday, May 6, 6 p.m.

    • Paul Novosad (Economics)
    • "Organized Crime and the Origins of the State"
    • Rockefeller 2

    Monday, May 13, 6 p.m.

    • Na'ama Shenhav (Economics)
    • "DACA and the Education Decisions of Undocumented Youth"
    • Haldeman 041

    Monday, May 20, 6 p.m.

    • David Blanchflower (Economics)
    • "Where Have All the Good Jobs Gone?"
    • Haldeman 041

    Winter 2019

    Monday, Jan. 14, 6 p.m.

    • Philip Short (Dickey Center)
    • "Mao, Stalin and Hitler:  Same difference?"
    • Carson L01

    Monday, Jan. 28, 6 p.m.

    • Students from Doug Irwin and Marjorie Rose's Econ 70 course
    • Reporting on Argentina and Chile
    • Haldeman 041

    Monday, Feb. 11, 5 p.m.

    • Jason Sorens, Government
    • "A Secessionist Movement in the Age of Twitter: Catalonia"
    • Kemeny 108

    Monday, Feb. 18, 6 p.m.

    • Meir Kohn, Economics
    • "Why There is No Such Thing As 'Market Failure'"
    • Kemeny 006

    Monday, Feb. 25, 6 p.m.

    • Peter DeShazo, LALACS
    • "Venezuela in Crisis: Why? What To Do?"
    • Rocky 2

    Fall 2018

    Monday, September 24, 6 p.m.

    • Bruce Sacerdote (Economics)
    • "Economic Inequality in Perspective"
    • Haldeman 041

    Monday, October 1, 6 p.m.

    • Erika Monahan (History)
    • "What Was Russia to Early Modern Europe?"
    • Haldeman 041

    Monday, October 15, 6 p.m.

    • Emily Blanchard (Economics)
    • "Globalization in the Crosshairs: Trade and Trade Policy in 2018"
    • Rockefeller 2

    Monday, October 29, 6 p.m.

    • Roundtable of Dartmouth economists Allen, Lewis, and Shenhav
    • "Immigration Policy"
    • Rocky 3 (co-sponsored with Economics Department)